This Quist will drive me Mads (sorry)

On a less angst-ridden note: the London 2012 Olympics have come at an inopportune time. I’m trying not to obsess about my baby plans but there seem to be Danes all over the TV at the moment. Not necessarily winning medals but definitely looking healthy and strapping in their fine red uniforms.

I watched the opening ceremony with a friend who doesn’t know about my plans and had to stop myself from making a wisecrack about the Danish team. Most Olympian males (and some of the women) are fine specimens of manhood and the Danes are definitely up there.

Today, I watched Danes Mads Rasmussen and Rasmus Quist narrowly defeat Team GB in a nail-biting men’s lightweight double sculls final. I didn’t know what double sculls meant before the games but to the uninitiated this is rowing. The poor Brits thought they had it and were mentally and physically shattered afterwards (even the TV presenter John Inverdale struggled not to break down after interviewing them, good grief). In between welling up for them, I couldn’t help my thoughts wandering towards the Danes and their fine physiques and wondering about my future donor, if I get that far.

Is it possible to stalk an entire nation?

By the way, I don’t speak Danish and put the text of the above article through Google Translate. What was originally meant by the mistranslated “Beets Mads Rasmussen and Rasmus Quist”, I wonder?

Do you think any of the Danish team has ever donat–. Now stop it.

PS. The Team GB coxless four did manage to win a gold in today’s rowing. There, I’ve mentioned the elephant in the room so that you don’t have to.

This entry was posted in donor insemination, fertility clinic, pregnancy, single mom, single mother by choice, single motherhood, single mum, sperm donor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think

