Premature insemination

The clinic rang today to move forward the IUI, so I’m in at 2.30pm now.

Very nervous today and hoping that writing calms me down. I think it’s the twins thing that is scaring the living daylights out of me. I made the mistake of looking the other night at people’s questions online about going into IUI with multiple follicles and had to stop reading.

I only had two large follicles and it’s likely that nothing will come of this first time in any shape or form but still have major butterflies. Whatever about two butterflies, I’m wondering where I would put two babies in my small frame!

It’s been surreal today talking to work colleagues while thinking in the back of my head that I’m going into a clinic this afternoon to be inseminated with a stranger’s sperm. I don’t think any of them will have predicted this when wishing me a good weekend this evening!

I think it will be an equally surreal car ride into the clinic with my mother. She’s happy I’m trying to have a baby on my own but I know she’s sad that I’m in this situation. I’m happy with my plan though. If I was pining over some guy I had loved and lost it might be different but, with no lovely man in sight at the mo, taking charge in this way feels right.

Still expecting them to say we can’t go ahead today for whatever reason. Expectation management!

This entry was posted in donor insemination, fertility clinic, Intrauterine insemination, IUI, pregnancy, single mom, single mother by choice, single motherhood, single mum, sperm donor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think

