Ich liebe meinen Liebster Award!

What a fine idea the Liebster award for blogs with under 200 followers is! Thank you so much The Solo Mama Project for the nod. Answers to your 11 questions below, followed by my own questions for some bloggers, should they wish to respond.

It’s not always clear who has fewer than 200 followers, so apologies if I’ve unwittingly nominated a blogging superstar. Also, some of you bloggers may have already have won an award – or you may not want to answer such off-topic questions on your blog. Or maybe you just don’t have the time or inclination. No pressure or obligation – hopefully you’ll take the nomination as a compliment either way.

And now for The Solo Mama Project’s 11 questions.

1. What would you do with a free afternoon all to yourself?
If it’s a weekday, it’s got to be a sneaky trip to the flicks. There is nothing better than watching a film, even a mediocre one, in the daytime while everyone else is at work and then emerging dazed and confused into the daylight. And there’s often a sense of camaraderie among the few other cinema goers, whether students, the unemployed or fellow skivers off work.

2. What is one of your guilty pleasures?
Strictly Come Dancing” ( = “Dancing with the Stars”). I don’t do “X Factor”, “[Whatever country’s] Idol”, “[Whatever country’s] Top Model”, “I’m a Celebrity…” et al but Strictly just brings a smile to my face. It’s so gratifying seeing the celebrities improve each week, particularly the ones who are woeful to start with. And who can resist that twinkle in Len’s eye? I don’t know what a fleckle is but he makes it sound so dirty. Also, I have terrible trouble myself with spatial relations and directions, so I know I would be dire on the show, which adds to my sense of admiration for the rhythmically challenged who go out and perform a new dance in front of millions of viewers every week.

Although Colin got kicked out last week, which has displeased me greatly…

3. Who is someone you miss?
Despite my current self-sufficiency, I miss having a boyfriend who is also the friend I want to go to first to share the nice and tough moments in life with.

4. What is your favorite thing about your life?
Oh sneaky questions teasing out contradictory answers! That I have taken control in the last six months and am no longer waiting for other people to allow me to realise the things that are most important to me.

5. What is your favorite post on your blog?
https://singlemotherhoodbychoice.wordpress.com/2012/08/04/this-quist-will-drive-me-mads-sorry/

In my quest to become a single mother, I’m trying not to be too angsty about this crazy thing I am hoping to undertake and to have a laugh at where life has led me. I think this post sums that up. A corny title, I know, but it made me smile when typing it. Those Danes are cute too!

6. If you were on a reality show, which one would it be and why? (had to recycle that one)
Definitely one of those geneology programmes, such as “Who Do You Think You Are?” To have someone do all the groundwork and present you with juicy details of what your recent ancestors got up to must be a gift. Unfortunately I’m not famous, so I guess I’ll have to do that research myself. At least I won’t have to keep an “Antiques Roadshow” poker face as I am told that my great grandmother was a herpes-ridden bigamist who beat donkeys for fun or that my grand uncle was a serial killer.

7. What’s the next big item you want to check off your bucket list?
I really want to become fluent in Spanish. I spent two months at Spanish-language school a few years ago in between jobs and learned loads. Then (poor excuse) my new job and general lack of organisation got in the way and my Spanish fell by the wayside. My confidence in speaking it is now on the floor. The plan now is to sign up for some exams, to give myself a deadline and kick my culo into gear.

8. What’s the most coincidental thing that’s happened to you recently?
Okay, not exactly in the “Ripley’s Believe It or Not” category, but an everyday coincidence from ordinary life. Today I was driving back from town and waiting in a yellow box to turn on a packed roundabout when the car beside mine started beeping. I studiously ignored what I assumed was yet another rude and obnoxious driver until I couldn’t block it out any more, glanced sideways narkily and, of course, it was C, one of my college friends, grinning away at me. The cars behind probably thought we were having a barney with all the rude hand signals going on. You can act like a kid with someone you met when you were 17, even when you are 39 and 40, respectively.

9. What was a life-changing moment in your life thus far?
Deciding to start my own business this summer after a year of indecision. So much happier than I’ve been for many years at work. I was lucky enough to get a lucrative three-month contract to start off with, and I may not feel this way in a month or two when the work has stopped, but right now it feels like the best decision I have made in years.

There may be another life-changing moment coming up, but only time will tell.

10. What is the last book you read?
I just finished “The Bookshop” by Penelope Fitzgerald. It’s a very slim book but packed with barbed humour and sharp observation about class and society in the England of the 1950s. I was delighted to discover that Penelope has written a bunch of gems that will keep me busy for a few months. Christmas Amazon list here we come! I’ve just started “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” by Kim Edwards and it’s looking pretty good.

11. What is your biggest pet peeve?
Bullies. People walking slowly while texting. Oh, and rubbish celebrities being kept in by the public vote in Strictly – you know who you are!

My 11 questions:

  1. What single item of technology could you not do without?
  2. What is your staple dinner party dish?
  3. What do you wish you had had the courage to do but have never done (it’s not too late!)?
  4. When you are 80, what is the top piece of advice you will want to pass on?
  5. What would you name a new dog (or cat, if you really can’t stand dogs)?
  6. What do you value most in a friend?
  7. Name one of your eight Desert Island Discs.
  8. What do you do to avoid getting stressed?
  9. What is your current comfiest piece of clothing?
  10.  If you could bring back one thing from your childhood, what would that be?
  11. Internet date v being fixed up by a friend – which is the lesser evil?

These questions are for these eight bloggers who give me reading pleasure at the mo (hopefully I won’t get bad Liebster karma by nominating only eight, but I don’t follow 11 blogs):

Chasing the Gerber Dragon, Dialect blog, My Tiny Plot, Newsteadgarden, The Linguist Blogger, Black, Single and Seeking Motherhood, Little Alexander – our handmade life, Skruben

This entry was posted in single mother by choice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think

