My 100th post

And still not shagging pregnant, unfeckin’believable.

I was in and out of the clinic in about 10 minutes this morning, a record. Feeling a bit evil, I had installed a TV remote control on my phone so I could change the waiting room TV from the stupid Discovery Channel to Sky News without getting out of my seat. I was called in so quickly, I had no time to execute my malicious plan.

They rang back at 3pm and it is negative as expected. I have a phone consultation with Dr O on Wednesday to discuss whether I should get any immunology/implantation/other tests done before going ahead with another frozen cycle. I asked about this because if there is a problem I don’t want to waste any more of those little embryos.

I will have a break anyway, as I can’t start again until my next natural cycle, which won’t be this one (because of the Estrofem). Starting in late November would overlap with Christmas, so I’m not sure if that’s an option or not, will see.

I’m sad that A1 and D2 didn’t make it but no tears yet.

Positive things:

  • I didn’t have to pay for the blood test – the first one is covered under the IVF programme, bonus.
  • The penultimate episode of Breaking Bad awaits me on Netflix after zumba tonight. Breaking Bad may have been singlehandedly responsible for nixing this cycle, as I hardly breathed for the entire previous episode last week, Ozymandias, it was so tense and gripping. My chest was actually tight as I watched it. Glad to see the series won the Emmy last night.
  • I can go spinning now and lose some of this fertility meds weight.
  • I have my second beginner’s pilates class tomorrow (missed last week’s because of the funeral) and don’t have to worry about straining my abdominals.
  • I have a denim skirt, jumbo cord kilt (to those who say you can’t wear a mini after 40, I say woolly tights and ankle boots) and broderie tunic (no, that’s nothing to do with Homeland) winging their way to me from Boden to cheer me up.
  • Alcohol – although my desire for it is low, at least I’ll have the option.
  • Plus the aforementioned cafetière of coffee, so bad for you yet so delightful.
  • Shag it, I might even get that nose piercing done now.
  • Cursing.
This entry was posted in biological clock, choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, IVF, long protocol IVF, pregnancy, single mom, single mother by choice, single motherhood, single mum, solo mom, sperm donor, trying to conceive, ttc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My 100th post

  1. Solo Mum says:

    I’m so sorry to hear it was negative

    • Choice says:

      I was well prepared so it’s okay. I’d hate to take that call cold without having done a test at home first! Will chat to the doc next week to formulate a plan. Best of luck with this round!

  2. Thels says:

    Sorry to hear it didn’t work. I’m going through exactly the same process, with same clinic. First IVF starting next month (after 3 IUI’s). Your blog has been fantastic to read. Keeping me sane. I hope your chat with the doc next week goes well!

    • Choice says:

      Hi there, thanks for getting in touch. I’m fairly philosophical about it and delighted to be drug-free for a while. I wish I’d started with IVF, but realistically I would never have gone for it without trying IUI first. Best of luck with your IVF round.

Let me know what you think

