And we’re off!

The country has been battered by storms and floods for the last few days but, without wanting to sound too much like Enid Blyton, today dawned bright and clear. And with it came a morning call from Dr O to let me know how we’d succeeded in suppressing my inflammatory response after two months of Omega 3. It’s done the trick, it seems. I’m not sure if I heard him correctly but I think he said the level of my inflammatory cytokines had fallen from 123 to 2.7. This sounds like some drop (he called it “Quite encouraging,” surely an understatement) but whatever the actual figure he’s happy for me to go ahead.

Which is just as well, as I took a risk last Tuesday and started the pill on the first day of my period, hoping for that good CKR result. The thought of waiting out yet another month made me want to bang my head against a wall, so I took a punt. I had a 27-day cycle, practically unheard of for me with my average 33 days; the Metformin is definitely doing something other than making me feel tired and menstrual for most of the month.

Dr O mentioned endometrial scratches again but we agreed to keep this one for later. Scratching the lining of the uterus about a week before you start building it up can cause a four-week healing response that might aid implantation. I wasn’t keen, partly because it will be more bloody money and the immune tests and intralipids are probably costing me an extra two grand already. He didn’t seem that bothered and said it was normal for a transfer not to work; I probably had about a 50% chance of success last time. If I had had several successive failures with embryos of a good quality we would need to rethink. Neither did he mention embryo glue again and I guess the same applies there – we can keep that up our sleeves too.

I asked if my chemical pregnancy in the first IUI could have triggered an immune response and he said this was a possibility. An immune response can also be built up after a successful pregnancy. Changes this time over the last FET cycle, in addition to the Metformin and Omega 3, will be the bits and pieces required to sort out my high natural killer cells (intralipids, low-dose steroid, Clexane and aspirin).

So, I guess I’m a week into a new frozen embryo transfer cycle! And I managed to start in January after all. I really wasn’t expecting that. I haven’t got my prescription or dates from the nurses yet, but hopefully transfer will be in mid-March. St. Patrick’s Day, according to my rough calculations.

Dr O mentioned that we’ll stay on the Metformin until I’m 12 weeks pregnant. I need some of that optimism, as I’ve realised I just cannot visualise being pregnant and having a healthy baby. There is a huge mental block there. I need to switch that mindset and grab me some of today’s sunshine, tout de suite.

This entry was posted in biological clock, choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, IVF, long protocol IVF, pregnancy, single mom, single mother by choice, single motherhood, single mum, solo mom, sperm donor, trying to conceive, ttc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And we’re off!

  1. Lindsay says:

    “Fake it ’til you make it.” Doing the visualizing of carrying a healthy baby in a full term pregnancy is so important, so even if it feels untrue/not possible at the moment, keep at it. Eventually you’ll come ’round and it’ll feel like a real possibility. And then it will be!

  2. barrenbetty says:

    That’s great news! Hooray for starting a new cycle. I’ve been on a high dose omega 3 too and I am reeeally struggling. Been very lax at taking them this last week which sorta makes me feel the last 2-3 months of them were a waste of time. Bleugh, I HATE THEM! You’ve reminded me now though so I shall be a good girl and go take today’s. Lots of good luck for this cycle xxx

    • Choice says:

      Hmmm, lax… is the word!! I really don’t like what they do to my innards but they seem to have done the business with the inflammatory problems. Though a sneaky part of me wonders if they just make this stuff up so you have to spend a grand on immune tests. “Inflammatory response, ye-es… try this fairy dust, I mean Omega 3.” Ker-ching. I’m sending some happiness vibes your way because I know you’re having a rotten time. I know you want to pretend it’s not happening but maybe do something wild on your b-day like going up a climbing wall (as opposed to up the usual wall) or something you’ve wanted to do for a while that makes you feel great about yourself. Then the b-day will be over and you can move on and we can curse all these baby-makers in ordinary time…

Let me know what you think

