IVF FET #2, scan #1

First scan was on Monday. It felt a little surreal, as I haven’t been in for a scan since September. Also, my head hasn’t really gotten around the fact that I’m on a cycle. This one kind of crept up on me and caught me unawares and I’m very busy with work at the moment, which is a good thing on many levels. I was happily trundling along with my pill and nasal spray consumption last Wednesday when something in my subconscious told me to check my medication plan and I realised that was the last day I was to take the pill. I was really not in the zone, so thank you subconscious for pulling me back in.

I was in the waiting room for about 45 minutes, which made me glad once again that I’m working for myself. There was one woman in a sharp business suit checking her BlackBerry furiously the whole time I was there. She made me stressed.

I had M, one of the nurses I know, who is a single mother as far as I recall. Probably not by choice but who knows. She’s very clued in, calm and professional and I like her a lot. I was due to start the Estrofem, steroid and Clexane blood thinner on Monday but asked her about combining Omega 3 with blood thinner, as they do the same thing. She said she believed they had done tests and that the combo was okay but she would check for me. She rang me later to say it was fine to do both. I asked why I was on Clexane at all this time and M explained that it can reduce the risk of miscarriage by freeing up the flow to the blood vessels in the uterus.

All was quiet on the uterine front, so we are good to go. Nasal spray down to one sniff, three times a day, and my morning routine now consists of: Omega 3 x 3, folic acid, steroid, Clexane injection and Estrofem x 2, rising to 3 tomorrow. Plus Metformin 850 twice a day. I feel like a tin of hundreds and thousands every morning.

I booked in my first intralipids session, for next Thursday after my third scan. And shelled out €1,305 for the cycle and for a new set of EU bloods to test for STDs etc, as my last set has expired. I think this is the third time I’ve done the EU bloods, a reminder of how long this has been going on. The three immune tests cost €1,200 and there’s another €1,050 coming up for the three intralipids sessions, a lot of extras this cycle. Hopefully, they’ll be worth it.

Having a bit of a crisis about whether to transfer one or two embryos. I may not have the choice, as they asked me right before egg collection whether I wanted to transfer one or two, so maybe that affected the way they’re stored. The doctor’s advice at the time was to go for two unless it would be a complete disaster if I ended up with twins.

It wouldn’t be a complete disaster but it’s really not what I want. What I really want is one healthy baby. Also, if I still have some immune or other issues they haven’t yet sorted out, it would be nice to waste just one embryo, not two, the next time. I’m keen not to have to do the stims thing again, as it wasn’t too pleasant the last time. But I don’t know about the odds of success if we transfer just one. I’ll see if they have any answers at my second scan on Monday.

This entry was posted in biological clock, choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, IVF, long protocol IVF, pregnancy, single mom, single mother by choice, single motherhood, single mum, solo mom, sperm donor, trying to conceive, ttc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IVF FET #2, scan #1

  1. jebhow515 says:

    My sil, who tried Ivf several times said ” after a few rounds you don’t care if they transfer 18 embryos…you just want to get pregnant!” She transferred 3. She has twins. ;). And they are the loveliest two year olds! So many benefits to twins (except the finances). Hoping all goes well!

    • Choice says:

      That’s how Octomoms happen ;-) I think I’m just getting scared as it gets real again. I know how lucky I am to have four embryos on ice at all, and how lucky I would be to have a healthy baby at all. Nice for twins to have each other for support when we are burbling 80 year olds… Thanks for the pep talk :-)

Let me know what you think

