Letter from my mother

My mother wrote me this card after my positive result on Tuesday. I’m putting it out there to all of you who are pregnant after trying for such a long time, whether solo or in a couple, and, especially, to those who are still hoping to get there. Please don’t give up until you’ve reached your last.

All of these babies are hard fought for and will be much loved when they arrive.

For those of you whose families aren’t yet aware what you are going through, I know they would share the sentiments below if only they knew.

I have written this letter a million times in my head, and now can’t believe that I’m actually doing it. Your Dad and I have hoped upon hope that you would finally have your dream of being a mother come true. You won’t believe the number of candles (yes!), mainly when on holiday, I’ve lit for you.

You will be the most wonderful mother, and this little boy/girl will be a very lucky little person.

It’s early days for congratulations, but with all our hearts we wish you a safe and healthy pregnancy, and look forward to meeting our beautiful new grandchild and welcoming him/her into our family. Another little person to love.

This will be an exciting time for you, and you will see it through with your great sense of humour and strength, and we will all be there for you.

Happy, happy days.

With all our love,

Mam and Dad

This entry was posted in biological clock, choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, IVF, long protocol IVF, pregnancy, single mom, single mother by choice, single motherhood, single mum, solo mom, sperm donor, trying to conceive, ttc and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letter from my mother

  1. Solo Mum says:

    That brought a little tear to my eye! I’m so glad that you have such supportive parents :)

  2. So happy for you! I wonder what more to say, but couldn’t say it better than your mom anyway.

  3. All teary now…what a beautiful letter from your mom. I’m linking over to you from my post tonight, stay tuned!

Let me know what you think

