Egg roulette

Well, I thought all was lost on the frozen front until I got a call at 3pm today. We have one frostie. The other three made it to blast but did not meet the clinic’s criteria for freezing. One frozen embryo means I can rest a bit more easily.

A summary of the eight eggs:

  • Two fertilised weirdly
  • Three made poor-quality blasts and were not frozen
  • One was transferred on day five as a blast
  • One was transferred on day five as a morula (ie not yet fragmented)
  • One was frozen as a blast

So, just over one-third of my eggs were decent, actually a slightly better performance than my six embryos out of 19 eggs two years ago.

I remember I was kind of outraged when they suggested IVF after my three failed IUIs and I took a long time to think about it. With these odds, I’m glad we’re going this route. There’s no getting around the fact that egg quality in your early 40s is hit and miss to say the least. And I know how lucky I am to be getting even these results.

Nothing now but to dig in and wait.

This entry was posted in biological clock, choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, single mother by choice, solo mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Egg roulette

  1. barrenbetty says:

    That sounds like a great outcome! I only managed 3 blasts out of 10 mature eggs across 4 egg collections! I’ve got everything crossed for the two you have on board and great news about the frostie too x

    • I know how bleedin’ lucky I am at this age – I’m nearly 10 years older than you, good grief! On which note – I hope you had a really, really happy 32nd birthday, a special one this time to make up for all the crappy ones of the last few years :-)

Let me know what you think

