IVF #2 beta #2

Beta #2 was at 10am today and they rang with the results at 12.25pm. Usually, the results come back after 2pm at the earliest, so they obviously knew I was on tenterhooks.

It was 2,708! Relief all around. Dr L is delighted, according to Nurse E.

You all know, of course, that I’m only at five weeks and will not be able to relax. It’s nice to see things heading in the right direction, though. I’ve never gotten to this stage.

The dates have been auspicious so far: embryo transfer on my niece’s birthday, beta #1 on another niece’s birthday and beta #2 on my sister’s birthday. The viability scan is now planned for St. Patrick’s Day, 17 March, and I’m to test weekly until then.

My third session of intralipids is tomorrow. I’ve had visions of battalions of white cells marching on my uterus, so this will ease my mind a bit.

The three week wait to hear a heartbeat is a new kind of hell that I haven’t had to endure before. I’m not complaining.

This entry was posted in choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, single mother by choice, trying to conceive and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to IVF #2 beta #2

  1. Thelma says:

    Fantastic news. Gives me great hope. :)

    • Thanks very much! Early days but we’ll see… What stage are you at now?

      • Thelma says:

        I had my transfer in November (with last 2 embryos) but no luck. Trying to get my head back in the game. Hard when you had good stock but no result :( Hope you are feeling good.

      • Yes, it’s quite hard to believe it hasn’t worked when you had a good few embryos and still have to start again from scratch. I don’t know if it was the Neupogen, the new donor or just a better crop of eggs that has helped me this time. It truly is a game of patience (and cold, hard cash…). Best of luck with the next steps.

Let me know what you think

