Eight-week viability scan – not brilliant news

Eight-week scan at last today with Dr K. I could immediately see two blobs, one small grey one and one larger, darker one.  The grey embryo hadn’t made it very far, as expected I guess, but the other one looked very promising to my eyes.

Unfortunately, the surviving embryo is only measuring at 6.5 weeks and the heartbeat is around 80, and weak, when it should be 140 and strong. So, although Dr K said it could go either way, he is not optimistic.

You can see the heartbeat below in the top scan, trying its best to hang on in there.

If it doesn’t, it’s just not meant to be and was never meant to survive.

Another scan next Tuesday, for which I’m bracing myself for the worst.

At least I have a frostie in the works, so all is not lost for this cycle.

8WeekViabilityScan17032015

 

This entry was posted in donor insemination, in-vitro fertilisation, single mother by choice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Eight-week viability scan – not brilliant news

  1. Lindsay says:

    Oh, I am so sorry about this news. I will send good energy and prayers your way for the little embryo and hope for the best.

    • Thanks very much, Lindsay. I wasn’t totally surprised, as I’ve felt even less pregnant (if that is possible) in the last week or so. It’s amazing I got this far at all – they might well have sorted my immunity stuff it, which would be fab.

  2. Solo Mum says:

    I’m so sorry that you didn’t get better news. I’ll be hoping for good news at your next scan!

  3. Jen says:

    I’m so sorry it’s not great news, but I’m keeping everything crossed for your next scan x

  4. So sorry… And hang in there. Great sign that you got this far and you will again. Big hugs.

Let me know what you think

