Nine-week viability scan

I had the lovely Dr L for my nine-week viability scan today.  There was no foetal heartbeat, as I expected – but what I hadn’t anticipated was:

it was identical twins.

Dr K didn’t spot that last week.

One measured at seven weeks three days and the other at six weeks two days.

Dr L said one probably died, and the second couldn’t survive, I think because they share the sac. She gave me a big hug when I was leaving and said she was very sorry.

If my insurance covers it, we could go for cytogenetic testing to give us a better idea of whether the embryo was abnormal or whether my immune system did the damage. If the embryo was normal, they might have to ramp up the immune measures even further (!), perhaps with IVIG instead of intralipids.

It makes me sad to think of the second embryo trying its best to stay alive all this week.

Nine-week viability scan - identical twins

This entry was posted in biological clock, choice mom, donor insemination, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nine-week viability scan

  1. Lindsay says:

    Oh my goodness, that is absolutely devastating. I am so sorry for your loss(es). Wish I could offer you a warm hug.

  2. Solo Mum says:

    I’m so sorry, I was hoping for better news. Sending hugs! I hope they can do the testing to find out a little more

  3. Jen says:

    Oh I’m so sorry :( hope you’re okay x

  4. Thelma says:

    I am so sorry to read this post. I really have no words. Please take care of yourself. A very tough time. x

Let me know what you think

