9 week scan

Today marks the end of summer in these parts and, thank the universe, a positive shift in my attitude towards this pregnancy, as all was great at my 9 weeks 2 days scan today.

Unlike the last time, when I felt as if I was driving to my own execution, I was positive and upbeat heading to the clinic, though still a little wary.

Dr L’s sidekick scanned me again and played the heartbeat as soon as she could see that everything looked okay. It was regular and strong, at 181 bpm. We measured at 9 weeks, as before just a couple of days shorter than my actual date and nothing to worry about.

This time, we could see a leg moving and, at certain angles, individual fingers clutched at the baby’s chest. The nurse pointed out the spinal cord and we could see the blood pulsing through the umbilical cord, as well as the heart flashing white again. When I think that my mother went through most of her pregnancies without any scans at all, it feels like such a privilege to see these details in a baby that measures little more than 2cm.

I don’t need one but I’m going to have a final scan at the clinic at 11 weeks 2 days, not so much for reassurance this time but more so I can begin to enjoy this pregnancy. The nurse said there’s so much more to see at an 11 week scan and mentioned that the machines at the public hospital, where I have my first appointment on 24 September, aren’t as good as the clinic’s. Having spent over 30 grand to get to this point, I think I can treat myself to another €110 with a clear conscience.

I know I’m not out of the woods yet but I’m finally beginning to believe this might actually be happening.

In the first scan below, you can see the head at the bottom and little legs on the top left, plus, once again, the white flash of the heartbeat in the centre. The second scan shows the foetal heart rate of 181 bpm.

viability scan 9 weeks Viab-scan-9-weeks-1-September-2015_2

 

 

This entry was posted in choice mom, donor insemination, in-vitro fertilisation, single mother by choice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 9 week scan

  1. Solo Mum says:

    I’m so happy for you!

  2. Thelma says:

    I am so delighted to read this (with tears in my eyes). Congratulations x

  3. barrenbetty says:

    Yessss!!!! I just had a little cry. So glad it is all looking good. So amazing what you can see on scans at 9 weeks! Congratulations xx

  4. jebhow515 says:

    Cute little gummy bear!!! It is so fun seeing them grow…inside and out!!

Let me know what you think

