11 week scan

I’ve been waiting for this moment since my first consultation in July 2012: I was released from the clinic today, at 11 weeks 2 days. All was great. The baby measured 11 weeks 4 days, with a crown to rump length of 4.82cm. As before, Nurse P, who did my last two scans, cut to the chase quickly and let me hear the heartbeat blipping away at 175bpm as soon as possible to put me out of my misery.

She gave me loads of time and we saw the baby from multiple perspectives. The little legs were crossed and the hands clutched up to the chest as before, and he even waved at one stage. The scans below don’t really reflect the amount of detail we saw, as I don’t think the angle lent itself to a clear picture. You can see him with his back to us in the first scan and in closeup profile in the second one.

Nurse P showed the scans to Dr L, who came in to congratulate me (“At last!”) and gave me a big hug. One other nice thing was that P, who started at the clinic around the time I arrived and was Dr L’s sidekick in my early appointments, got written confirmation yesterday that she has passed her Masters. She’s been there all through this experience and I guess we’re both graduating in different ways this week. Dr L suggested I call a girl after P to mark this but we agreed I would name her after the two of them…

The clinic will send a letter of referral to the public hospital. My first appointment there is next week and, if friends in the same situation are to believed, I expect to be put through the mill as a first-time “geriatric” pregnancy (I really think they should change that terminology). I’m nervous about the anomaly scan and not even sure when it happens (Nurse P said before that you had to request it and advised me not to worry unless I have a reason to). I’ll take that as it comes next week.

I’m not jumping the gun and still not quite believing this is happening but I’m content today that things are looking good – baby steps as usual.
11 week scan 11weekscan_2 11weekscan_3

This entry was posted in choice mom, fertility clinic, in-vitro fertilisation, single mother by choice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 11 week scan

  1. Congrats on graduating from your clinic and those scan pictures are so cool :)

  2. Solo Mum says:

    I’m so, so happy for you! I know how rough this journey has been and you’ve come so far. And such clear scan photos too!

  3. Thelma says:

    Delighted with this post. What a journey! So lovely to see these pics. Congratulations xx

  4. babydreamsandlove says:

    Isn’t it amazing how baby like they are – so early on! I’m so, so happy for you & your little ‘graduation’ – I’ve been following your long journey – and am so excited for this to be happening for you <3 xxx

  5. mrsgwenryan says:

    Sloppily excited for you!

  6. barrenbetty says:

    Amazing! Congratulations on graduating. Exciting day :) I’m so happy to read this post. It’s been a long time coming x

Let me know what you think

