Happy New Year

I hope everyone had a very fine Christmas. Mine was a lovely family affair with various family groups arriving and converging and generally gorging themselves. My mother gave me a pattern for a gorgeous soft baby cardigan, plus light blue wool and buttons, so watch this space for my first matinee jacket attempt.

The last vestiges of the Christmas bird were finally binned today after incarnations of turkey biryani, Mexican turkey and soup. Once the decorations are down, it will be truly over. I’m bracing myself for the slightly melancholy feeling that can set in in the days after the Christmas holidays.

Having said that, this Christmas was full of optimism and excitement for me after a trio of quite difficult ones as I tried to get, and stay, pregnant. Life is set to change with a bang in April. And next Christmas will be a very different prospect with an eight-month-old baby.

My pregnancy trundles on uneventfully. I’m embracing the maternity tops and trousers now and really enjoying it all. It’s still a novelty for me to have cleavage and I’m going to miss these boobs and my bump. I remain a little wistful that I won’t get to do this again, which is probably a reflection of how easy I’ve had it so far.

I’ve been surprised by a few things:

  • I knew my nipples would get dark but I’ve also developed dark freckles on and around them. Apparently, these may not go away – who knew! Another souvenir of pregnancy along with stretch marks (and lots of icky things I probably don’t know about yet)…
  • There’s a slightly darkish circle around my belly button – no linea nigra yet, but there’s definitely a dark blueish area there. Wasn’t aware that was a thing either.
  • I have a few skin tags under my left boob – had never even heard of skin tags before. I’ve obviously led a very sheltered life.

The first of many things no one tells you about pregnancy, I guess. Or maybe everyone else knew about this stuff and I was the only one in the dark.

For all the ttc’ers out there, I know how hard Christmas can be when you are trying to get pregnant. I’m sending supportive vibes to all those on the treadmill. Keep your peckers up and best of luck with the next steps.

Happy 2016 from my sparkly Christmas bump!

pregnancy bump

This entry was posted in pregnancy, single mother by choice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. jebhow515 says:

    Man the freckles from Being pregnant. I went to my dermatologist afterwards and had to get a few removed. Not a bad idea after the first few months and once your body starts to become yours again. E was 7 months for his first Christmas. Pretty uneventful except they are easy to pose Ana get cute pics of then. This year he understood a little more about presents and how to unwrap them. The paper still trumps the gift! Your bump is looking perfect!

    • Amazing, I had never heard about any of this. No freckles yet on my face – maybe winter is helping.
      Love your warm Christmas pics! Good luck with the Facebook fast – I have never looked back since closing my account a few years ago. Have a fab 2016!

  2. So happy for you!!! Enjoy :)

Let me know what you think

