Easter baby ahoy

I think I may be induced this weekend, as the spectre of pre-eclampsia has reared its ugly head once again.

My blood pressure at my 8am hospital visit today was 160 over something, going down to 145 or so when taken again, and the protein in the urine measured first +1 and then +2. In a repeat of last Monday’s adventures, I was shipped off to the day ward after 9am. Baby trace and bloods were fine, protein had fallen to negligible but my blood pressure was still around 142. I finally got to see the doctor at about 3pm and he felt that inducing me was probably the best path in view of my age, the variation that indicated I was borderline pre-eclampsia and the fact that this is a holiday weekend and they don’t want me unmonitored for too long.

I’ve been given blood pressure tablets to take twice a day but have to return to the day ward at lunchtime tomorrow for a bp check. I think it’s unlikely that will be a favourable reading given the slightly stressful situation and I’m not sure it will make much difference anyway.

So, my guess is I might be induced on Saturday. My ‘birth partner’ sister’s family happen to have all the sweepstake dates this weekend, so it looks like the dog may lose out.

Scary and exciting again. Need to decide on a baby name!

This entry was posted in pregnancy, single mother by choice, single mum and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Easter baby ahoy

  1. Solo says:

    So exciting! Wishing you all the best :)

  2. jebhow515 says:

    My birthday is on Monday but once you are in labor the last thing you will give a shit about is having your baby on my birthday. Haha. Anyway may the mommy force be with you. Labor is a primal place. You will do great! The birth story you have dreamt of your whole life is almost behind you!

  3. cdnchoicemom says:

    Wishing you all the best this weekend! :)

  4. Good luck! Very exciting!

  5. babydreamsandlove says:

    Not good about all your pre eclampsia struggles! :'( – but yay that you may get to meet your little bundle of baby! I have been following you since before you got preg and its crazy that your this close to baby in arms!! So excited for you ♡♡ sending love and hope that all goes well and babies plan of arrival is smooth for you xxx

  6. Wow good luck with it all! How exciting.

    • Thanks very much for the good wishes and so sorry to hear your news. Even knowing ‘this one just wasn’t meant to be’ doesn’t help at this stage, as most of us in this community know. No better weekend for binge eating chocolate and other rubbish though and being kind to yourself.

Let me know what you think

