Passport – first taste of single motherhood bureaucracy

Brexit is affecting our passport offices here in Ireland, as lots of eligible Brits scramble to get an Irish passport before the UK exits the EU. Handy to have an Irish granny up the sleeve if this entitles you to an EU passport. I’ve no plans to hit an airport with my boy any time soon if I don’t have to, but the passport office situation is such that I’ve been thinking it might be wise to get the little fella’s passport sorted sooner rather than later. I am toying with getting a ferry abroad this summer and would need it then anyway.

When I registered his birth, they simply asked if the father was to be on the birth cert and I said no. I was delighted it was so simple but it did cross my mind that they couldn’t really know I wasn’t just freezing out some poor guy who had every right to be named. Fathers get a raw deal sometimes.

For the passport, however, as I have no father to sign his bit, I’m having to get a solicitor sign an affidavit confirming that I am the sole guardian.This is fair enough, as I could be abducting the child, but it’s my first taste of being a little bit different to most other people. I’m going to get a will done at the same time and then my to-do list of admin things such as getting him a social security number, applying for child benefit and so on will be completed at last. I looked at schools last week and most of them don’t open their registration lists until a couple of years before the child starts attending, so I can relax about that one for the moment.

Rather than go to a pharmacy or photographer to get the boy’s passport mugshot done, I took one at home with him resting on a white pillow, which is apparently acceptable for little people. The rules for babies are a little ridiculous: mouth closed, eyes open, both ears and chin showing. This must be absolutely nightmarish with a very tiny baby. Happily, my boy co-operated brilliantly and we got a decent photo. I did notice when I got it printed yesterday that the background looked slightly brown where the pillow was wrinkled. Here’s hoping the passport people let that pass and don’t go all jobsworth on me.

18-July-Passport_4

I am a name, not a number

 

 

This entry was posted in single mother by choice. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Passport – first taste of single motherhood bureaucracy

  1. jebhow515 says:

    I know my bestie has to have a letter rom her X every time she leaves he country. I have worried about how we are going to travel without the dad letter. I guess I will cross that bridge when I come to it! Besides after the election we may need to flee…haha!

    • Yes, at least we don’t have to ask permission from the dad every time (I’m hoping I don’t have to get a new affidavit every time I need to renew). After November you may be living in Canada! Or you could hop over the new wall to Mexico. Or come to Ireland!

      • jebhow515 says:

        It’s warmer in Mexico ;) Actually I prefer Nicaragua. I short flight away! I do have an X in the UK I can maybe move in with, though I am not sure it’s much better there now! ugh.

    • Lindsay says:

      I cross the border ALL the time and was only ever questioned once. i showed her birth certificate with only my name on it, and it was not a problem at all.

  2. Love that passport picture! Adorable and better than any one you could have taken professionally for a passport at this age. :) Fortunately my experience in the US in getting a passport was rather simple. Since I had no father listed on the birth certificates for either of my children and this seems to be the official document, I didn’t have to do anything additional for the passports. Best of luck!

    • Funny how the approach is so different here – having no father on the birth cert doesn’t seem to matter. More work for the lawyers, I suppose! I hope your week gets much better and that the chemistry with the parenting coach is v good.

  3. barrenbetty says:

    How unbelievably cute is he!!!!!!

  4. Lindsay says:

    That photo! OMG gorgeous baby. It was really easy for me to get my daughter’s passport both in the USA & Canada – since I’m the only one on her birth certificate it wasn’t a big deal. I hope they accept that photo, cuz it’s damn cute!

  5. He’s gorgeous! What a nice passport picture ๐Ÿ˜€

Let me know what you think

